Bateman Awards Honor Students, Professor and Organization

Brigham Young University's Marriott School of Management announced the winners of the 2012 Bateman Awards — the only school-wide awards selected entirely by students — at an awards banquet on April 6.

Rachel Morrison, a senior studying therapeutic recreation from Jamestown, North Dakota, and Kyle Poe, a senior studying accounting from Los Alamitos, Calif., won Outstanding Undergraduate Student Awards. Todd Castagna, a second-year MBA student from Newhall, Calif., received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. Jeff Dyer, professor of strategy, took home the Student Choice Award while the Women in Business club was recognized as the Outstanding Student Organization.

"You're a part of the incredible history of this institution," says Merrill J. Bateman, speaking to those gathered at the awards banquet. "The Marriott School is going to get better and better and is going to provide leaders for the world. You can see it coming in the students in the Marriott School as well as other parts of the university."

The Outstanding Undergraduate Student and Outstanding Graduate Student Awards are given annually to students who serve and lead within the school and community; the Student Choice Award is given to one faculty, staff or administrator who demonstrates outstanding efforts to enhance students' experiences. The Student Organization Award, which was added last year, recognizes a successful student club or organization.

Because of a tie, the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award was presented to both Morrison and Poe. Morrison has served as president of the Therapeutic Recreation Club, which she created. She currently works in the Marriott School advisement center, counseling students on different majors, curriculums and career paths. She also helps RMYL students meet their requirements for graduation.

This past year, Poe served as president of the Marriott School Undergraduate Association after having been vice president of technology the year before. In addition he co-founded the Students for Social Innovation on-campus internship program. Upon graduation, Poe will be working for L.E.K. Consulting Group in Los Angeles where he was a summer associate last year.

Castagna, an MBA student majoring in finance, received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. While enrolled in the MBA program, he anchored BYU's Morning Market Call, served as vice president of trading for the Silver Fund and co-taught a Business Management 301 course.

Jeff Dyer, who chairs the Marriott School's Department of Organizational Leadership and Strategy, was honored with the Student Choice Award. Dyer focuses his teaching and research on strategy and innovation. With co-authors Hal B. Gregersen and Clayton M. Christensen, he recently wrote "The Innovator's DNA," a business bestseller that ranks the world's 50 most innovative companies.

The Women in Business club seeks to attract women toward degrees in business, develop their experience within the business school and place them in rewarding careers. Through events and leadership opportunities, club members learn valuable business skills, and WIB provides a strong network for women. During the past year, WIB membership has grown dramatically, and the club recently hosted an event for more than 350 prospective female business majors.

Those in attendance were excited to hear a keynote address from Elder Robert Gay, who was called to the First Quorum of the Seventy the week before. Teaching from the scriptures and drawing upon his personal business experience, he admonished all in attendance to be ethical leaders.

"Elder Gay taught us that while awards and accolades can be nice, we can't let them distract us from exercising moral and ethical leadership," says Nick Purse, a joint MPA/JD student from Rexburg, Idaho. "Having high moral and ethical standards is really what's most important in life."

The Bateman Awards were created in 2002 in honor of Merrill J. Bateman, who served as president of BYU from 1996 to 2003 and as dean of the BYU School of Management from 1975 to 1979. He has held several prominent positions in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He served as a member of the Presidency of the Seventy and was president of the Provo Utah Temple from 2007 to 2010.

The Marriott School is located at Brigham Young University, the largest privately owned, church-sponsored university in the United States. The school has nationally recognized programs in accounting, business management, public management, information systems and entrepreneurship. The school's mission is to prepare men and women of faith, character and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Approximately 3,000 students are enrolled in the Marriott School's graduate and undergraduate programs.

Media Contact: Chad Little (801) 422-1512
Writer: David Packard