BYU Marriott Awards Honor Personnel

PROVO, Utah – Apr 25, 2018 – The Brigham Young University Marriott School of Business honored a group of faculty, staff, and administrators for their outstanding teaching, research, and service during the school’s annual year-end awards luncheon.

Garnering the top two honors were Todd Mitton, Ned C. Hill Professor of Finance, and Christine Roundy, academic program manager in the MBA office. Mitton earned the Outstanding Faculty Award, the school’s top faculty award, while Roundy received the N. Eldon Tanner Award, BYU Marriott’s top honor for staff and administrators. 

A professor in the Department of Finance for the past eighteen years, Mitton earned a bachelor’s degree in economics and an MBA at BYU before getting his PhD at the Sloan School of Management at MIT. Mitton’s research and teaching has involved a variety of topics including corporate governance and derivatives, and diversification.  

Roundy has served in a number of positions during her time at BYU Marriott since joining the school as the assistant to the undergraduate director. Prior to joining the MBA office, Roundy also worked in the Business Management Department and as a class scheduler. 

Other honorees included Greg Anderson, information systems associate teaching professor, and Barett Slade, James M. Passey Professor of Finance, who each were named Teaching Excellence Award recipients.

Bonnie Anderson, Department of Information Systems chair and professor, and Ryan Elder, associate professor of marketing, received Scholarly Excellence awards in recognition of their outstanding research and publications. 

John Bingham, Department of Management chair and professor; Brad Harris, experience design and management teaching professor; and Eva Witesman, Romney Institute of Public Management associate professor, received Citizenship awards for their commitment to furthering the school’s mission through service.

Other Staff and administrators honored included Kip Smith, Romney Institute branding and marketing manager, and Jonathon Wood, Whitmore Global Management managing director, who each received an Excellence Award for demonstrating proficiency in management, professionalism, character, and initiative to improve.

The event also recognized retiring faculty members and staff for their years of service. Retiring faculty included Kristie Seawright, associate professor of global supply chain management; Kevin Stocks, School of Accountancy KPMG Professor, and Alan Wilkins, professor in the Department of Management and director of the BYU Faculty Center.
Retiring staff members honored at the luncheon included LuAnn Hart, secretary to the associate deans, and Rixa Oman, assistant to the dean. 

The BYU Marriott School of Business prepares men and women of faith, character, and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Named for benefactors J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott, the school is located at Brigham Young University, the largest privately owned, church-sponsored university in the United States. BYU Marriott has four graduate and ten undergraduate programs with an enrollment of approximately 3,300 students. 

Award winners
Honorees at the 2018 BYU Marriott Awards Luncheon.
Todd Mitton
Todd Mitton addresses attendees after receiving the Outstanding Faculty Award.

Media Contact: Jordan Christiansen (801) 422-8938
Writer: Jordan Christiansen