Faculty and Staff

BYU MPA faculty are passionate about the program. They represent a dynamic blend of experienced educators and internationally recognized practitioners. Our faculty are deeply committed to mentoring individual students in ways that are uncommon for graduate programs. Because the program size is small, MPA faculty develop close working relationships with students and often collaborate with them on research projects and field studies.

MPA faculty have expertise in areas such as city management, communications, international development, nonprofit management, career development, taxation and banking, community development, survey research, community health, legislative staff work, and management consulting.


Agle, Brad

George W. Romney Endowed Professor

Office: 636 TNRB
Phone: 801-362-8194
Email: bradagle@byu.edu

Bergin, Sue

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 646 TNRB
Phone: 801-376-4916
Email: sue@suebergin.com

Blum, Eric

Adjunct Professor

Email: etblum@byu.edu

Brunson, Warren

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 650 TNRB
Email: warren.brunson@byu.edu

Butler, Matt

Adjunct Professor

Office: 2132 WVB
Email: matt_butler@byu.edu

Cairns, Emilie

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 385-224-9558
Email: emiliecairns@byu.edu

Chase, Adam

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Email: adammichaelchase@gmail.com

Chewning, Heather

Program Manager

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-4222

Christensen, Robert

Professor

Office: 771 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-6414
Email: rkc@byu.edu
Home Page: bitly.com/web_rkc

Clarke, Shayne

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 342 HCEB
Phone: 801-422-4157
Email: Shayne.Clarke@byu.edu

Cooper, Catherine

Associate Director

Office: 762 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-9173
Email: clc@byu.edu

Dixon, Liz

Adjunct Professor

Office: 639 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-4081
Email: ead36@byu.edu

Facer, Rex

Associate Professor

Office: 768 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-9321
Email: rfacer@byu.edu

Faulconer, Kacy

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 650 TNRB
Phone: 801-358-1731
Email: kacy.faulconer@gmail.com

Hanson, Robert

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Email: narvolous@gmail.com

Harmon, Jim

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Email: jdharmon@gmail.com

Harmon, Tanya

Director MPA Career Services

Office: 435 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-1827
Email: tharmon@byu.edu

Hart, David

Associate Professor

Office: 770 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-7243
Email: davidhart@byu.edu

Hernandez, Carl

Adjunct Professor

Office: 434 JRCB
Phone: 801-422-4934
Email: hernandezc@law.byu.edu

Hulterstrom, Bill

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 801-691-5301
Email: billh@unitedwayuc.org

Loftis, R Chet

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 801-694-0404
Email: chet.loftis@pehp.org

Lundell, Dean

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 801-376-9348
Email: pm604lundell@gmail.com

Madrian, Brigitte

Marriott Distinguished Professor

Office: 730 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-4122
Email: dean_madrian@byu.edu

Matkin, David

Associate Professor

Office: 773 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-0123
Email: david_matkin@byu.edu

Middleton, Valene

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 650 TNRB
Email: valenemiddleton@gmail.com

Miller, Aaron

Assistant Teaching Professor

Office: 766 TNRB
Phone: 801-787-3210
Email: aaronmiller@byu.edu

Miller, Duane

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 650 TNRB
Email: millerdu@uvu.edu

Mortensen, Jim

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 301-838-9688
Email: jmortensen@uvu.edu

Murdock, Rick

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 345 W North Temple
Phone: 801-633-8131
Email: rickmurdock@gmail.com

Nelson, Ray

Associate Professor

Email: ray_nelson@byu.edu

Newell, Karmel

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 646 TNRB
Email: karmelhnewell@gmail.com

Okerlund, Vicki

Alumni Relations Administrator

Office: 763 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-1468
Email: vicki_o@byu.edu

Owens, Brad

Associate Professor

Office: 774 TNRB
Phone: 801-473-6547
Email: bpo@byu.edu

Pack, Heather

Adjunct Professor

Phone: 385-225-1351
Email: hrpack@byu.edu

Rayburn, Heather

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Email: heather_rayburn@byu.edu

Rellaford, Barry

Adjunct Professor

Email: barry.rellaford@byu.edu

Richardson, Marianna

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 646 TNRB
Email: mariannari@byu.edu

Sandberg, Rhonda

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 460E TNRB
Phone: 801-422-2769
Email: rhonda_sandberg@byu.edu

Sandholtz, Kurt

Associate Teaching Professor

Office: 587 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-3759
Email: sandholtz@byu.edu

Silvia, Chris

Associate Professor

Office: 764 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-2433
Email: chris.silvia@byu.edu

Smailes, David

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Phone: (435) 865-8725
Email: jdsmailes@gmail.com

Smith, Kip

Branding and Marketing Manager

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 801-850-2495
Email: kip.smith@byu.edu

Smith, Staci

Adjunct Professor

Email: sbsmithphd@gmail.com

Sorensen, Craig

Adjunct Professor

Office: 760 TNRB
Email: craigsorensen@byu.edu

Spackman, Andy

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 1212 HBLL
Phone: 801-422-3924
Email: andy_spackman@byu.edu

Starks, Ryan

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 590 TNRB
Phone: 435-654-3666
Email: ryangstarks@gmail.com

Thomas, Lisa

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 650 TNRB
Email: lisa.thomas@byu.edu

Thompson, Jeffery

Professor

Office: 767 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-7064
Email: jeff_thompson@byu.edu

Wadsworth, Lori

MPA Director & Associate Professor

Office: 760-A TNRB
Phone: 801-422-5956
Email: lori_wadsworth@byu.edu

Walker, Jason

Adjunct Professor

Email: jaywalk40@gmail.com

Wallentine, Melissa

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Office: 650 TNRB
Email: Prof.Wallentine@gmail.com

Willardsen, Crickett

Adjunct Professor of Management Communication

Phone: 801-221-0987
Email: crwill@comcast.net

Witesman, Eva

Associate Professor

Office: 772 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-6536
Email: eva_witesman@byu.edu