BYU MPA faculty are passionate about the program. They represent a dynamic blend of experienced educators and internationally recognized practitioners. Our faculty are deeply committed to mentoring individual students in ways that are uncommon for graduate programs. Because the program size is small, MPA faculty develop close working relationships with students and often collaborate with them on research projects and field studies.

MPA faculty have expertise in areas such as city management, communications, international development, nonprofit management, career development, taxation and banking, community development, survey research, community health, legislative staff work, and management consulting.

Full-Time Faculty

Brad Agle

George W. Romney Endowed Professor

Office: 564 TNRB
Phone: 801-362-8194
Email: bradagle@byu.edu

Robert Christensen

Associate Professor

Office: 771 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-6414
Email: rkc@byu.edu
Home Page: bitly.com/rkc_web

Rex Facer

Associate Professor of Public Finance and Management

Office: 768 TNRB
Phone: (801) 422-9321
Email: rfacer@byu.edu

David Hart

Associate Professor of Ethics and Public Management

Office: 770 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-7243
Email: davidhart@byu.edu

Aaron Miller

Assistant Teaching Professor

Office: 766 TNRB
Phone: 801-787-3210
Email: aaronmiller@byu.edu

Ray Nelson

Associate Professor of Public Management

Office: 769 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-6126
Email: ray_nelson@byu.edu
Home Page: marriottschool.net/teacher/govfinance/

Brad Owens

Associate Professor

Office: 774 TNRB
Phone: (801) 473-6547
Email: bpo@byu.edu

Chris Silvia

Associate Professor

Office: 764 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-2433
Email: chris.silvia@byu.edu

Jeffery Thompson

Director and Associate Professor of Public Management

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-7064
Email: jeff_thompson@byu.edu

Ty Turley

Assistant Professor

Office: 773 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-0123

Lori Wadsworth

Associate Professor of Public Management

Office: 767 TNRB
Phone: (801) 422-5956
Email: lori_wadsworth@byu.edu
Home Page: marriottschool.byu.edu/employee/employee.cfm?emp=llw45

Eva Witesman

Associate Professor

Office: 771 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-6536
Email: eva_witesman@byu.edu

Administrative and Full-Time Staff

Heather Chewning

Program Manager

Office: 760 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-4222
Email: hc@byu.edu

Catherine Cooper

Associate Director

Office: 762 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-9173
Email: clc@byu.edu
Home Page: mpa.byu.edu

Tanya Harmon

Director MPA Career Services

Office: 435 TNRB
Phone: 801-422-1827
Email: tanya_harmon@byu.edu

Administrative and Part-Time Staff

Vicki Okerlund

Coordinator External Relations

Office: 763 TNRB
Phone: (801) 422-1468
Email: vicki_o@byu.edu

Kip Smith

Branding and Marketing Manager

Office: 760 TNRB
Email: kip_smith@byu.edu